My cat, Mister


For about 20 years I had this incredible cat and friend: Mister was his name.

He had a special story, because it was actually my partner at the time who found this black kitten crying on a street in Brescia, and we were supposed to move there from Milano, so I had achieved that if I said yes, I wanted a cat.

As it goes with me manifesting, I got the cat immediately, before we even moved! He was such a lovely little cuddle cat, he was absolutely MY cat, he loved me to bits. And I loved him.

He grew up and moved towns as we did, sharing our life in time. For more than 20 years he endured all sorts of adventures, from me caring for up to 6 and 7 cats at a time, to me having another beloved fantastic cat, Tefnut (more on her another day), that he really got along well with.

Eventually Tefnut died of old age, and I got a couple of kittens to keep him company. I could see he was getting old and lonely… But he never really shared much with them.

One day he got ill and I knew it was time. I had arranged for the vet to come and euthanize him: he was suffering. But as he lay there, peacefully in his little bed, I told him thankyou and allowed him to leave. One hour later he was dead and he did it in his own discrete way, in his own timing. I was grateful for that – I’ll never grow used to forcing a timing on a living being, and saying the last goodbye to a long-time friend is never easy.

I painted him one day because he had this way, sometimes, of sleeping with one eye open, as if still checking if anything interesting was happening. I had to paint this.

And today I’m grateful I did, because every time I look at that painting I know this was him, he is still my cat, my companion, after so many years. I’m glad we shared a long and happy life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can choose between so many ways to enjoy my art: from acrylic to paper prints, with or without matte, wood prints, metal prints and so on. In all sorts of sizes to fit the space on your wall. Also, you can choose to have it as a throw pillow, duvet cover, mug, tote bag and so much more!

See the online gallery for all the paintings

Mister, painting in the online gallery

Digital post-impressionist paintings to please your soul space.

Website: lindacorneliusartist.wordpress.com
Online gallery and shop: linda-cornelius.pixels.com
Facebook art page: facebook.com/LindaCorneliusArtist
Instagram art page: instagram.com/linda.cornelius.art
Pinterest art page: pinterest.dk/Linda Cornelius Art

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.